2013 brochure

How You Can Help the Library Extend Medical Knowledge

You can be a part of the Friends' mission to help educate the health, corporate, and public communities about NIH's many vital research initiatives. If you or your company can help to support and expand the Library's efforts by providing sponsorship and other charitable donations for NIH MedlinePlus magazine's publication and distribution, many more thousands of Americans will gain valuable, free access to the world's best online medical library, www.medlineplus.gov.

Learn more about supportership or call (202) 679-9930. Written correspondence may be sent to FNLM, 4720 Montgomery Lane Suite 500 Bethesda, MD 20814.

Past FNLM Award Recipients

Distinguished Medical Science Award

Given to scientific and medical leaders who have made significant contributions in the fields of health care, medical science and public health.

Mahlon DeLong, MD '15
Chad. A Mirkin, PhD '14
Raymond Schinazi, PhD, DSc '13
Alfred Sommer, MD, MHS '12
Purnell Choppin, MD, '11
Patrick Soon-Shiong, MD '10
Robert C. Gallo, MD'10
John T. Schiller, PhD '09
Douglas R. Lowy, MD '09
Joseph Perella, MD '09
Vincent T. DeVita, Jr., MD '09
Adel Mahmoud, MD, PhD '08
Dennis J. Slamon MD, PhD '07
Bernard Fisher, MD '07

Paul G. Rogers Award for Public Service

Given variously for Public Service, Health Communications, and Medical Science.

John P. Holdren, PhD '16
The Honorable Kevin Yoder '15
The Honorable Barbara Mikulski '14
The Honorable Chris Van Hollen '13
The Honorable John Edward Porter '12
Eugene Braunwald, MD '10
Mary Woolley '09
Senator Tom Harkin '08
Randy Owen '08
Bernadine Healy, MD '07
Senator Ted Kennedy '07
Kevin Klose '06
C. Everett Koop, MD '05
Senator Mark O. Hatfield '98
Vince Cohn '97
Michael J. Ackerman, PhD '96

Donald A.B. Lindberg Distinguished Health Communications Award

Given to a member of the print or electronic press or media who has demonstrated consistent and sustained distinction in reporting biomedical and health information to the public.

Freda Lewis-Hall, MD, DFAPA '16
Donald A.B. Lindberg '15
Amy Robach '14
Sanjay Gupta, MD '13
Karen Hunter '12
Michael Roizen, MD '11
Mehmet Oz, MD '11

Michael E. DeBakey Medical Library Services Outreach Award

Given to a librarian who services rural or underserved populations.

Shari Clifton, MLS '16
Claudia DeShay, PhD '15
Patricia Bradley, MLS '14
Richard L. Wallace, MA, MSLS '13
Anna Schnitzer, AMLS '12
Ann Duesing, MLS '11
Rita B. Smith, MLIS, AHIP '10
Greysi Reyna, MLS '09
Ellen H. Howard, MLS '08
Ada M. Seltzer, MS, MA '07
Janet E. Minnerath '00
Kathleen M. McCloskey '99
Clinton M. (Marty) Tompson, Jr. '98
Donna P. Johnson '97
Cheryl F. Smith '96
Phyllis Gillikin '95
Lorraine Ettl '94
Mary Jo Dwyer '93

Nursing Informatics Award

Given to a Nursing Informatics expert who has contributed significantly to the field.

Roy L. Simpson, DNP, RN, DPNAP, FAAN '16
Kathleen McCormick, PhD, RN '15
Virginia K. Saba, EdD, RN, FAAN, FACMI, LL '14

Medical Informatics Award

Larry Ellison '11